
   
As an employee of DHS you are a Mandatory Reporter, you required by law to report alleged abuse of the following individuals; children, 
adults with mental illness or developmental disabilities, the elderly and individuals in nursing facilities.  DHS staff having reasonable 
cause to believe that an individual has suffered abuse or that any person has abused an individual shall report suspected abuse to the 
proper authority.  If you are uncertain regarding the proper reporting authority, request assistance from your manager.i 

2. All DHS Employees Elderly 
“65 and Over” 

124.050 to 
124.095 

During Official
Capacity     

3. All DHS Employees Adults with 
Developmental 

Disabilities 

430.735 to 
430.765 

During Official
Capacity 

    

4. All DHS Employees Adults with Mental 
Illness 

430.735 to 
430.765 

During Official
Capacity 

    

5. All DHS Employees People in Nursing 
Facilities 

441.630 to 
441.680 

During Official
Capacity 

    

            
                                                 
i Definitions of Abuse “As it pertains to different client populations: There are different types of abuse; abuse can be physical abuse, 
sexual abuse & sexual exploitation, neglect, abandonment & mental injury and threat of harm or physical pain or injury.  For specific 
definition of abuse pertaining to each client population, access the Oregon Revised Statutes at http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/home.html 
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Employees Required to Report        
1. All DHS Employees Children 

“Under the Age 18” 
419B.005 to 

419B.045 
24 hours/ 

7days 
    

Department of Human Services
Mandatory Reporting Matrix 

( ) Indicates 
that a report 
must be made to 
one of the listed 
entities. 
All DHS 
Employees are 
Mandatory 
Reporters 



                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
Failure to Report:  There could be criminal and civil penalties for failure to report.  For more information regarding these possible 
penalties, visit the Oregon Revised Statute website at http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/home.html 
 
Official Capacity:  For more information on the definition of “Official Capacity”, contact the Department of Human Services, Office of 
Human Resource-(503) 947-5415 
 
Training Resources: 
More extensive training on Mandatory Reporting is available through DHS Program Training.  For training schedule, visit the DHS 
Training Website at http://www.dhs.state.or.us/training/ 
 
Video:  Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse.  Contact the Office of Children, Adult and Families (CAF), Child Protective Services at 
(503) 945-5702 

 


