## Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents (ABAWD)

This worker guide is intended to assist DHS staff in navigating the SNAP time limit policies required for ABAWDs. These policies may be different depending on where the ABAWD is living.

## For this worker guide you will see the following terms:

"Time-limit exempt counties," otherwise known as waiver counties, otherwise known as waiver counties – these terms mean the areas of the state which are waived from the SNAP time limit. They are: Baker, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lincoln, Linn, Malheur, Mo rrow, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco and Wheeler;

"Time-limit counties" — Refers to the counties where the SNAP time limit is applied: Benton, Clackamas, Lane, Marion, Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill counties.

#### Who is an ABAWD?

Simply, an ABAWD is the following:

A person who is at least 18 years and not yet 50 years old; and

There is no person under age 18 living in their filing group.

Remember to narrate if the person is an ABAWD.

Time Limit and Special Requirements for ABAWD; SNAP Rule

461-135-0520 — Time Limit and Special Requirements for ABAWD; SNAP

#### What is so special about ABAWDs?

Federal law says an ABAWD must meet certain work requirements to receive SNAP benefits. They may only receive SNAP benefits in three months over a 36-month period while not exempt from the SNAP time limit or not doing the required number of hours in the work activities. This law is applied nationwide. The ABAWD can only receive the three months of benefits once without complying in any state. So, the three counting months cross state lines. After receiving the three months of benefits without complying, they must perform the required number of hours each month or be ineligible.

#### What is the time limit?

Oregon uses a fixed clock for the SNAP time limit. The SNAP time limit may be different in other states. This SNAP time limit only applies to ABAWDs. It is a 36-month period. In Oregon, all ABAWDs use the same SNAP time limit. Regardless of when an ABAWD

applies for SNAP, they use the same period. The SNAP time limit began January 1, 2016, and will end January 1, 2018.

Oregon has a waiver on the SNAP time limit for some areas of the state. For 2016, the SNAP time limit is only applied to ABAWDs who live in Multnomah or Washington counties. As of January 2017, the SNAP time limit expanded to include residents of Clackamas County. The waiver changed again for January 2018. The SNAP time limit applies to residents of Benton, Clackamas, Lane, Marion, Multnomah, Washington and Yamhill counties. ABAWDs living in other areas of the state have a waiver are time-limit exempt counties. The SNAP time limit is only applied to them if they move to a time-limit county. The SNAP time limit waiver is only valid for one year. So, the counties with no time-limit waiver may change next year on January 1, 2018.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-Limit exempt county
Fixed clock of 1/1/16 to 12/31/18 applies to ABAWD	Yes	Yes
Apply the SNAP time limits	Yes	No

## **Exemptions from the SNAP time limit waiver**

First, the employment and training exemptions must be reviewed on all SNAP cases at certain times. The review must occur when:

The individual applies for benefits and at each recertification;

The Interim Change Report For Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) form (DHS 852) is processed and information in the report leads to changes in the individual's work registration status;

The individual reports a change which changes their status.

ABAWDs living in a time-limit county may be exempt from the SNAP time-limit. The circumstances for these exemptions are:

- A child under age 18 moves into the filing group;
- The ABAWD is pregnant;
- The ABAWD moves to a time-limit exempt county;
- The ABAWD is exempt under one of the work requirement exemptions in <u>SNAP</u>
   E.8. (NOTE: These are the numeric work registration codes only.)

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
Review exemptions each time cert, recert, 852 or	Yes	Yes

change is reported which changes the exemption		
Exemption code 1 – caring for child under age 6 in filing group	Not an ABAWD	Yes
Exemption code 2 – Student, includes Refugees with plans in a federal refugee program such as IRCO	Use if no other exemption applies and only IF the higher ed status is not due to SNAP E&T Plan (plan must be verified)	Yes
Exemption code 3 – unable to work due to physical, mental or behavioral health condition	Yes	Yes
Exemption code 4 – working 30 hours a week or equivalent	Yes	Yes
Exemption code 5 – self- employed with self- employment income the equivalent of 30 hours a week	Yes	Yes
Exemption code 6 – in A&D treatment (not including AA/NA)	Yes	Yes
Exemption code 7 – Participating in JOBS while receiving TANF	Rare but possible	Yes
Exemption code 8 –caring for incapacitated person and not able to work due to providing the care	Yes	Yes

Exemption code 9 – applied	Yes	Yes
for or receiving UC		

Districts 2, 3, 4, 5, 15 and 16 are no longer doing OFSET. A special work registration code "G" was created to show when a person is not an ABAWD but is OFSET mandatory. This code should not be confused with exemptions. The "G" work registration code means the individual is OFSET mandatory but is not currently participating because there is no OFSET program in their area according to the State Employment and Training State Plan. Also, the APD and AAA SNAP offices are not doing OFSET. The "G" work registration coded also applies to mandatory OFSET individuals receiving SNAP benefits in their offices. The AAA/APD offices in nonwaived counties are also using the "G: work registration code for non-ABAWDs. Only SSP offices in time-limit exempt counties are doing OFSET. Although these offices are not offering OFSET, they have STEP providers available and can offer employment and training services to those who want to volunteer.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
Work Registration Code G – for mandatory OFSET individuals but not doing OFSET activities because there is no program.	D2, D3, D4, D5, D15, D15, D16, Clackamas APD, Washington County APD and AAA offices for Benton, Lane, Marion and Multnomah counties are are to use for persons who are not an ABAWD but are OFSET mandatory.	SSP offices do not use this code.  APD and AAA SNAP offices will use this code for any individual who is OFSET mandatory.
Work Registration Code A – for mandatory individuals who want to volunteer for STEP and cannot do OFSET because there is no program.	D2, D3, D4, D5, D15, D16, Clackamas APD, Washington County APD and AAA offices for Benton, Lane, Marion and Multnomah	SSP offices will use this code if a mandatory person wishes to volunteer for either OFSET or STEP.  APD and AAA SNAP offices will use this code for any

counties are to use for persons who are not an ABAWD but are OFSET mandatory.	individual who is mandatory and wants to volunteer.
---	---

## Special reporting requirements for ABAWDs

ABAWDs who live in a time-limit county are required to do one additional reporting requirement. They must report any time their work hours (for pay, bartering or in-kind, or as a volunteer) go below 20 hours a week. This change must be reported within 10 days of the change. This additional reporting requirement applies to all ABAWDs living in an area without the SNAP time limit waiver. There is no exception to this. It does not matter what report system is assigned to the case.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
ABAWD required to report when work hours go below 20 hours a week	Yes	No
SRS Change Report form	Use <u>DHS 854</u> for ABAWDs (mandatory and exempt).	Use <u>DHS 853</u>
	Use <u>DHS 853</u> for non-ABAWDs.	

## Required work-related activities

ABAWDs living in a time-limit county who are not exempt from the SNAP time limit must do certain work-related activities each month. ABAWDs living in the time-limit exempt counties are not required to do these activities. ABAWDs in the time-limit exempt counties will be offered the opportunity to volunteer with OFSET work activities. In a time-limit county, it is important the mandatory ABAWD receive a referral to the contractor at intake. Failure to do this means the individual could receive a counting month before they can meet with the contractor.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
1 Olicy	Time mine county	Time-milit exempt county

Refer to contractor during the interview and not wait for eligibility decision	Yes	No
Must do the ABAWD work requirements	Yes	No
May choose to do the OFSET work requirements	Yes (if choose not to do the activities, they will receive a counting month)	Yes (for SSP) No (for APD/AAA)

For time-limit counties, the required work-related activities focus on working for pay, or not paid by bartering or in-kind, or as a volunteer. If not working, the ABAWD may participate by attending various training programs or other work programs such as WIOA. The focus is on working and not seeking employment. Therefore, the ABAWD is limited to no more than nine hours a week in looking for work or work search training. The exception to work search is if they are participating in WIOA activities or the 30 days before Workfare. (NOTE: OED provides WIOA activities.) All work-related activities must be at 20 hours a week except workfare. For Workfare, the hours of participation are based on the FLSA calculation.

Mandatory ABAWDs are required to do the work requirements if they want to receive SNAP benefits for more than three months in a 36-month period. In addition, they must have a non-JOBS case plan in TRACS. This is any ABAWD living in a time-limit county who is not exempt from the SNAP time limit. DHS is to set up the PE step in the TRACS non-JOBS case plan being referred to the contractor. Local processes determine who sets up the PE step in the TRACS non-JOBS case plan.

Generally the mandatory ABAWD will be asked to go to the contractor for assessment and case plan. The contractor will write the plan in TRACS and will update hours on a regular basis (at least once a month). In some instances, the worker will write the case plan in TRACS. This is when the mandatory ABAWD is working 80 hours a month – averaged to 20 or more hours a week. In this instance, the plan is simply to continue to work the 20 hours a week and verify and code two weeks of work hours. The TRACS step code for this is "BF."

When working 80 hours a month, no referral to OED is required. If working less than 80 hours a month, do the PE and BF Steps, verify the work hours and refer the ABAWD to OED for the balance of the needed hours.

The contractors are not responsible for verifying or tracking the ABAWD's work hours. DHS staff are responsible for this, including placing the work hours in the BF strep on the non-JOBS case plan.

The contractor will update the weekly participation hours when the ABAWD reports to them. Worker created plans will be updated with hours at the local branch level. The BF code will auto update weekly after two weeks of hours has been added.

Mandatory ABAWDs will be asked to track their hours in the assigned activity(s) and turn in the report on a regular basis to OED. The time frame is set by the district and the contractor. The number of hours in an activity must be reported for all activities except working. This is because ABAWDs in a time-limit county are required to report when their work hours go below 20 hours a week.

# **FCAS** coding of Mandatory ABAWD

There are special work registration codes for mandatory ABAWDs. Some codes aid in the reporting of work activities. These work registration codes are coded on the individual ABAWD on page 2 of FCAS. These work registration codes for mandatory persons are:

Work Registration codes	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
A – Mandatory who volunteer	No, if an ABAWD; but can use for a non-ABAWD who is volunteering with STEP	Yes
B – Mandatory who do not volunteer	No	Yes
C – Mandatory ABAWD referred to the contractor in a Time-limit county	Yes (Use Step code IF or JF in non-JOBS case plan) May also Use Step codes AF – ESL/GED; SF -	No

	sheltered/supported work in non-JOBS case plan) BF – if working less than 20 hours a week	
M – Pending medical for disability (use for no longer than 3 months)	Yes (no TRACS non- JOBS case plan until decision made regarding the exemption after receipt of medical)	No
R – ABAWD referred to Workfare	Yes (Use step code WF in TRACS non- JOBS case plan)	No
T – ABAWD Working 20 hours a week or in a Displaced Worker program	Yes (Use step BF if working and step VF for displaced worker program in non- JOBS case plan)	No
V – ABAWD in Vocational or Educational Training	Yes (Use Step code VF Vocational education activities or TF for approved training in TRACS non-JOBS case plan)	No
W – Pending proof of work hours	Yes – Use if ABAWD reports they are working but has not provided proof of work hours. Change this code to either T or C after receiving the proof.	No

volunteering to participate	No, unless volunteering for STEP activities	Yes
	STEP activities	

## Other E&T eligibility requirements

There are some required eligibility requirements in SNAP for E&T programs. These eligibility requirements also apply to ABAWDs and to SNAP participants who live in areas without the OFSET program. They include the requirement to register for work, to assist with the exempt/mandatory determination, accepting a bona fide job offer, not reducing work hours to less than 30 hours a week or quitting a job. SNAP individuals (ABAWD and non-ABAWD) who are mandatory to register for work must meet all of these eligibility requirements. They are separate eligibility requirement for SNAP. ABAWDs living in a time-limit county may be disqualified and receive a LV1, LV2, or LV3 disqualification for this offence. For ABAWDs in the time-limit counties, the SNAP time limit applies to participation in the work activities only.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
Apply disqualification for not assisting with exempt-mandatory status determination	Yes	Yes
Apply disqualification for failing to accept a bona fide job offer	Yes	Yes
Apply disqualification for voluntarily reducing work hours without good cause	Yes	Yes
Apply a job quit disqualification if no good cause	Yes	Yes

## Verifying work hours

In the past we only needed to verify income from work and not the hours of work. With ABAWDs in a time-limit county, we also need to verify the work hours for any person who is working and not exempt from the SNAP time limit. This may be work for pay, bartering or as a volunteer. Hours of work may be verified in several ways. This includes

hours on pay stubs, on Work Number, require the individual to obtain a written statement from their employers, the *Proof of Work hours for an ABAWD* (DHS 7450) or worker calling employer.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
Verify work hours for Mandatory ABAWD.	Yes	No

## **Counting months**

Counting months are assigned when a mandatory ABAWD living in a time-limit county does not do the required number of work activities for the month and there was no good cause. In addition, the counting month may be received in Oregon or in any state in the country plus Washington DC, Guam, US Virgin Islands or Puerto Rico. The limit is three months in a 36-month period. Our individuals are mobile. Therefore, we must verify if the ABAWD received a counting month in another state any time after January 1, 2016.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt area
Verify CT received in another state	Yes	Yes
Code CT if received in another state on FCAS and SNAP time limit screen	Yes	Yes
Apply CT for not doing the ABAWD work requirements in Oregon	Yes	No

# Counting months may not be given if any of the following is true:

The month is a partial month of benefits (could be the first month of a certification period);

The ABAWD is exempt from the SNAP time limit for any part of the month;

The ABAWD moved to a time-limit exempt county in the month;

A child under age 18 joins the filing group during the month;

The ABAWD turns age 50 during the month.

Counting months 1-3 do not need to be consecutive. That is they do not have to be all together. An ABAWD may not do the 80 hours in required work activities for one month, decide to do the 80 hours in each of the next few months and once again fail to do the 80 hours in a month. They would receive CT2 if they did not have good cause. Visual of the three years and use of the CT's may look as follow:

YR 1	CT1			CT2;			
YR 2							
YR 3							

Additionally, the ABAWD is not automatically ineligible when they receive CT3. The ABAWD may start to participate in the work activities in the last month but did not get the full 80 hours and there is no good cause. They just started the participation late and it is expected to continue. In this instance, the SNAP benefits are not ended with the CT3 month. Workers must monitor the mandatory ABAWD's participation on TRACs each month. As with OFSET, the individual may have good cause for not participating that month. Also, their situation may have changed and they are now exempt from the SNAP time limit. If becomes exempt from the SNAP time limit in the month, do not assign the CT. If possible, review for these before ending the SNAP benefits because the ABAWD reached the SNAP time limit.

There are times the mandatory ABAWD is not referred to the contractor as required. Maybe they are a transfer into a time-limit county and do not receive the referral for several months. In this instance, the ABAWD will have used counting months and may have an administrative overissuance back to the first month they are mandatory and not participating. At other times, the ABAWD may not report a change which was required. In that instance, they have a individual-caused over issuance back to the date we would have acted on the change if it had been reported timely. When an over issuance occurs for mandatory ABAWDs exceeding the SNAP time limit, and the individual has not received all three counting months, you can offset the over issuance by retroactively giving the individual CT1, CT2, CT3. In this instance, only the months of incorrect benefits following the CT3 will be included in the over issuance.

The counting months are coded as CT1 for the first month, CT2 for the second month and CT3 for the third month. The CT coding is placed on the ABAWD who used the counting month. This coding will follow them if they move to another household. The assigned counting months must be coded on the person on FCAS page 2. They must also be coded on the SNAP Time Limit screen.

See <u>SS-IM-16-004</u> and <u>SS-IM-16-019</u> for information on coding the SNAP Time Limits screen and the attached coding tool.

Individuals have 90 days from the end of the counting month to provide proof they were exempt from the SNAP time limit in the counting month or they met the work requirements. Whenever, the CT was coded and later determined to be in error, the worker should remove the code from FCAS and the SNAP Time Limit Screen. Be sure to note in the comment box that the CT number was deleted. Be cautious: if the individual has received more than one CT, you may need to roll the CT count back. Be sure to code the correct month for the latest valid CT. Example, CT 1 given in 01/2106, CT2 given in 2/2016, and CT3 given in 3/2016. In April the individual provides proof they were ill and not able to participate in 02/2016. Good cause is given for February. Change the CT coding back to CT2 on FCAS and the SNAP time-limit screen for 03/2016 and note in the comments field the change of CT months. It is important the SNAP time-limit screen correctly reflect when a CT is removed because other states will be calling Central Office to learn if CTs were given in Oregon and the month.

Because the law allows for nonparticipation in only three months in a 36-month period, the mandatory ABAWD who fails to meet the 80 hours in work requirements in a fourth or greater months will have an over issuance. Unlike other parts of SNAP policy which allow for additional months following a reported change, the ABAWD is not allowed an extra grace period.

There is a second set of counting months. ABAWDs can only receive this second set in certain circumstances. As with the CT1, CT2, and CT3, the second set of counting months are given when the mandatory ABAWD fails to complete their assigned work-related activities. The second set of counting months are coded as CT4, CT5 and CT6. Unlike the first set of counting months, this second set is consecutive. That is if the ABAWD receives CT4, the following month is CT 5 and the month after CT6. The CT5 and CT6 months must be coded even if the ABAWD becomes exempt from the SNAP time limit, SNAP case closes or the ABAWD becomes ineligible some other way. So, if they are eligible for CT4, the CT5 and CT6 must be coded. To be eligible for this second set of CT months the ABAWD must first regain eligibility after their benefits closed after receiving CT3. See Regaining Eligibility below in 12 of this worker guide. Visual of the three years and use of the CT's after CT6 may look as follow:

YR 1	CT1			CT2			
YR 2							
YR 3		СТЗ		CT4	CT5	СТ6	

Also, unlike CT1, CT2 and CT3, you can only remove CT4, CT5 or CT6 if the ABAWD should not have received the CT4. This is because CT5 and CT6 are automatically

assigned even if the case closes or the ABAWD becomes exempt from the SNAP time limit.

There are no more counting months available after CT6. If the ABAWD wants SNAP after receiving CT6, they will need to be exempt from the SNAP time limit or do the work-related activities each month. Their benefits will end if they fail to do this.

# Restoring ABAWDs after CT3 showing they have an exemption or met the work requirements

Sometimes, ABAWDs do not report when they become exempt from the SNAP time limit or report they are meeting the work requirements until after their benefits end. The benefits may end due to case closure or reduction for exceeding the SNAP time limit following receipt of CT3. Caution: This does not apply to regaining eligibility or actions taken after receiving CT6.

SNAP benefits may be restored if there are months remaining in the certification period and all of the following are true:

It is the month immediately following the case closure or the month the reduction is effective:

The ABAWD shows they were exempt from the SNAP time limit in at least one of the CT months; or

The ABAWD shows they met the work requirements in at least one of the CT months; or

The ABAWD had good cause for not meeting the work requirements in at least one of the CT months.

In this scenario, the worker should remove the CT for the incorrect month and restore benefits back to the first of the month for the ABAWD. Continue to monitor each month for participation if they are mandatory. Do not take a new application or do a REC action - this is not a recertification. Use the IJ or EJ Rel-ATP codes to issue SNAP.

Act on other changes for the following month. If benefits will be reduced, send a *timely* continuing benefit decision notice before making the changes.

If a individual contacts the Department more than a month after the close or reduce action, they will need to regain eligibility.

# Certification periods for ABAWDs and Special FCAS coding

Mandatory ABAWDs residing in a time-limit county should receive a shorter certification period when they must meet the work requirements. Generally these are ABAWDs who are required to work with the contractor. These ABAWDs may receive a four-month certification period. To show the case is in SRS it needs to have some special coding on page 1 of FCAS. The coding is:

A four month certification period;

N in the report field. (The system will not allow S for SRS here);

SRS in the Household type field; and

County (FIPS) code needs to be 003, 005, 039, 047, 051, 067 or 071.

When this coding is in place, the computer will send the certification approval notice for ABAWD cases in SRS. If all four items are not appearing on FCAS, the case will not be in SRS.

Some mandatory ABAWDs may receive six or 12 month certification periods. They are persons who are working (paid or non-paid) in a stable situation 20 hours a week.

Most ABAWDs from the SNAP time limit will receive six- or 12-month certification periods.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
4-month certification period for mandatory ABAWD who must meet the work requirements	Yes	Yes
6-12-month certification periods for mandatory ABAWDs working 20 hours a week in stable jobs	Yes	Yes
6-12-month certification periods for ABAWDs exempt from the SNAP time limit	Yes	Yes

## Regaining eligibility (after CT3)

ABAWDs with CT3 and living in a time-limit county may be eligible to receive SNAP after their benefits closed. The ways they can regain SNAP eligibility is:

- Child under age 18 joins the filing group;
- ABAWD becomes pregnant;
- Lives in a county other than a time-limit county;
- Become exempt from the work requirements;
- Between case closure and filing the SNAP application, the ABAWD worked (paid or unpaid) at least 80 hours over a consecutive 30 day period. The 30 day period may be in two different months but must be 30 days in a row. Must verify the work hours:

If not exempt from the SNAP time limit and did not work, the ABAWD must do 80 hours of work-related ABAWD activities with the contractor over a 30-consecutive-day period. They must perform the 80 hours before the benefits can be approved for the ABAWD. A referral and their statement they will comply is not sufficient. The ABAWD in this situation are not eligible for expedited service as they are ineligible for SNAP benefits due to exceeding the SNAP time limit.

Policy	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
Child under age 18 in filing group	Yes	This policy is only applied in the nonwaiver areas
No longer lives in a time-limit county	Yes	This policy is only applied in the nonwaiver areas
Become pregnant	Yes	This policy is only applied in the nonwaiver areas
Regains eligibility because exempt from the SNAP time limit	Yes	This policy is only applied in the nonwaiver areas
Worked 80 hours in 30 day period after SNAP case closure	Yes	This policy is only applied in the nonwaiver areas
Participated in ABAWD work- related activities for 80 hours in a 30 day period	Yes	This policy is only applied in the nonwaiver areas

If the mandatory ABAWD regains and later stops doing the required work-related activities, they may receive another set of counting months. These are coded CT4, CT5, and CT6. See Counting months above (<u>SNAP-WG#8</u>). There is no limit on how many times an ABAWD regains eligibility over the three years. However, there are no more counting months available.

#### After CT6

The mandatory ABAWD may receive SNAP after receiving CT6. To do this they must regain eligibility and do the required work activities each month. There are no more counting months available. They participate in the work-related activities the 80 hours a month or their benefits end. There is no limit on how many times an ABAWD regains eligibility.

## **ABAWD** notices

Notices have been created and are in NOTM to assist with decisions on mandatory ABAWDs. Some of the notices are informational and other notices are timely decision notices. These notices are in both English and Spanish in NOTM. For the Spanish version, go to NOTM,SP. For other languages, the English version is sent with the translated notice. These notices are translated into Amharic, Arabic, Bosnian, Burmese, Cambodian, Farsi, Hmong, Karen, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin, Mien, Nepali, Romanian, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Somali, Swahili, Tigrinia and Vietnamese. If there is another language, the English notice is mailed with the FS 97 asking the individual to contact you for more information. These notices are:

Notices	Time limit county	Time-limit exempt county
FSW0ABD – Denial for SNAP time limit	Yes	No
FSWCT1I – use for giving CT1, CT2, CT3	Yes	No
FSWCT3C – closure after CT3	Yes	No
FSWCT3R – reduce after CT3	Yes	No
FSWCT4I – use to give CT4	Yes	No
FSWCT4C – closure after CT6	Yes	No
FSWCT4R – reduce after CT6	Yes	No
FSWAB18 – youngest child turning age 18	Yes	No
FSWINVT – Invitation to ABAWD meeting with E&T contractor	Yes	No

## Changes which result in person becoming an ABAWD

Individuals have changes which they sometimes report during a certification period. Some are reported on the <u>DHS 852</u>, others because they will get more benefits and others they are required to report. Quite often these changes will impact the person's

exemption status. Each time a change is reported, it must be evaluated for a change in the ABAWD's mandatory or exemption status.

Some examples of when a change can mean a change in status:

- Offices in a time-limit county will receive a monthly list of ABAWD cases where the youngest child in the household is turning age 18. All persons in the household may now be mandatory ABAWDs and need to meet the work requirement the next month. Determine if each adult is exempt from the SNAP time limit. The now 18-year-old may be exempt from the SNAP time limit due to attending school. Refer the mandatory individuals to the contractor. The notice FSWAB18 is available in NOTM to send to the household and assist with this determination:
- ABAWD is receiving UC at certification, they are exempt (code 9). Later, they call
  to report their UC income has ended. You verify on ECLM and remove the UC
  income. You also need to talk to the individual to see if there is another
  exemption. If none, change the Work Reg coding to mandatory (probably code
  C) and refer to the contractor. Also create a PE Step in a non-JOBS case plan;
- ABAWD is mandatory and working 20 hours a week. They call to report their income is now greater than the 130 percent level. You need to verify the income. Calculate and code the new income followed with a timely reduction notice and change the Work Reg coding from mandatory to exempt (code 4). Also, end the case plan in non-JOBS TRACS;
- ABAWD is exempt (code F4) and working 28 hours a week (equivalent of 30 hours a week). They report their work hours dropped to 18 hours a week because the work is slow. Verify the new hours and income amount and calculate the new income for FCAS. If they are no longer exempt from the SNAP time limit, change the Work Reg code from exempt to mandatory and refer the individual to the contractor to be assigned two hours a week in work-related activities. Also create a non-JOBS case plan with the PE Step and the BF Step showing two weeks of verified work hours;
- At certification, an ABAWD was determined to be an eligible student because they were working. They are exempt due to code 2 or code 4. At interim report they report they are no longer working. You must determine if it was a job quit, and date the job ended. Also look for another exemption. If there is no other exemption, determine if the person is still a higher education student. If they are still a student, do they now meet the eligible student criterion? This student may no longer be eligible for SNAP benefits due to being an ineligible student.
- Receive the report a child under age 18 has moved out. There is no other child in the home. Check to see if the remaining household members are ABAWDs. If any are ABAWDs, are they exempt from the SNAP time limit? All mandatory ABAWDs need to be referred to the contractor. Also create a non-JOBS case plan with the PE step. If an ABAWD is working (paid or unpaid) 80 hours a

month, you do not need a referral to OED, but you still need to create the non-JOBS case plan with the BF step and show two weeks of verified work hours.

# **ABAWDS and Transitional Benefits (TBA)**

Sometimes TANF families become ABAWDs. This generally occurs when TANF ends and the youngest child is no longer under age 18. Generally, these families qualify for five months of TBA. However, the SNAP time limits are an eligibility requirement which overrides the reporting requirements for TBA. Therefore, if the adults in the case are now ABAWDs and not exempt from the SNAP time limit, they must meet the work participation requirements or only receive three months of SNAP benefits in a 36-month period. This means if any individual in the filing group is a mandatory ABAWD, and they do not meet the work requirements in any TBA month, that month will be a counting month. After three counting month's the ABAWD will become ineligible and if there are others in the filing group – all will lose the remaining months of TBA.

## ABAWDS moving in and out of time-limit exempt counties

SNAP individuals move from area to area. Some will move into a nonwaived or timelimit county and others will move out of these counties.

#### **ABAWD** forms

There are several forms designed to assist with ABAWDs. Some are designed to assist with receiving needed verifications while others are intended to help share required information.

<u>DHS 210ABW</u> – Notice of information or verification needed for an Able Bodied Adult Without Dependent is used to request hours or other information from an ABAWD needed to show the month is not a counting month. Unlike other pending notices, the ABAWD will not lose eligibility if they fail to provide this information within 10 days. Instead, they may receive a counting month. If proof is needed for regaining eligibility, the <u>DHS 210</u> or <u>SDS 539H</u> should be used.

<u>DHS 824i</u> – *ABAWD Work Activity Attendance (SNAP)* is used by mandatory ABAWDs to report the number of hours they have completed in work-related activities. They are to turn this completed form into their OED office each week.

<u>DHS 864</u> – Attention SNAP Participants! Rules are different is a poster – About the SNAP ABAWD changes for January 1, 2016. This poster is used by local food shares, homeless shelters, etc., to assist with spreading the word regarding the SNAP time limit.

<u>DHS 1465</u> – Able-Bodied Adult Without Dependents (ABAWD) Report of Good Cause or Exemption can be used by the customer to report good cause or an exemption. The report can be verbal instead of using the form.

<u>DHS 1467</u> – Employment Assessment: OFSET and ABAWD Determinations is a worker-use-only form to assist with determining if a SNAP individual is exempt from the E&T program requirements.

<u>DHS 7280F</u> – SNAP Employment and Training Programs Rights and Responsibilities is used to notify SNAP individuals of their rights in the SNAP E&T programs, the requirements, good cause criteria and penalties. This form covers all three SNAP E&T programs – OFSET, 50-50 and ABAWD. Not only is the worker to discuss these requirements and give the customer the form, also narrate both actions occurred. The worker must sign this form indicating they have provided this information to the individual and the signed form is to be placed in the SNAP case record.

<u>DHS 7450</u> – *Proof of Work Hours for an ABAWD* is an optional form for ABAWDs to use. They may use this form to request their employer provide proof of their work hours. There are other ways they may provide this proof.